Rankled ramble

A chunter about Call of Duty | Men in Black: International | The Man in the High Castle | Mr. Robot | Raymond Chandler

Bernard Cornwell – Gallows Thief

Gallows Thief is historic crime novel set in Regency London. The main character is the jauntily named Rider Sandman, a veteran of the Battle of Waterloo, who is looking into the guilt or innocence of a young painter imprisoned for the murder of the Countess of Avebury.

Stephen King – The Outsider

The Outsider is another crime/horror cross-over from King in the same style as the Bill Hodges trilogy (Mr Mercedes, Finders Keepers, End of Watch) and while it’s not a sequel to those books it does exist in the same universe and indeed does feature the character of Holly Gibney. Spoilers ahoy!